{Sullivan Atlas} A Homebirth Story

So today marks 1 week of having baby Sully with our family. Its a good time to type out our birth story.

He was born Friday the 13th of May and He came into the world fast and furious!

I had my waters “break” (slow leak) on the night of the 12th and it continued to leak all through the day on the 13. I was surprised that I experienced only 3 or 4 small contractions during the day. I was actually pretty frustrated that he had not come that day. I went to bed around 10-10:30pm, but woke up a few mins later with a very strong and real contraction! YES!!! This is it. Baby time!

I didn’t want to wake my husband or kids because I knew I’d be in labour for a few hours yet. So I got out my yoga ball and turned on the tv..  I also called my mom to come over because I wanted her there for the birth. Im super glad I called her as “early” as I did.
The contractions kept coming one on top of the other, with less that 1 min in between, and they were very very strong. I had to stop and lean on the kitchen counter while walking from the family room to the bed room. I went and woke up my Husband and Bee, who was sleeping on the floor in our room, I said.. “BABY TIME, this is it for real call the Midwife… NOW”. I actually felt a little bit frantic, because I was thrown off by how fast things were going. I had to take a minute to calm myself down as best I could.

My poor husband was a bit confused and startled from a deep sleep. He called the midwife, and then started to fill up the bath tub. I asked him to push hard on my lower back through a few contractions. This was probably 10 to 15 mins after the first contraction hit. I got into the tub and immediately started to feel the need to push. Our Midwife arrived really quickly (did she break traffic laws and drive slightly above the speed limit? Ill never tell!)

She came in our room and set up all her equipment. (things she would need in case of emergency) Then she came over and checked on me, and checked baby’s heart beat. Everything was good. Meanwhile I had been pushing the whole time.

13234991_10156916585265023_1019651248_o

The one photo of our birthing experience, thankfully my mom snapped a pic with her phone. This is our midwife checking baby’s heart beat moments after she arrived.

Shortly afterwards I felt like I needed to poop.. (yes poop, this is a birth story, people poop) So I asked my mom and husband to help me to the bathroom.

Our daughter Bee went and woke up her little sister, and they were hanging out in our room watching and quietly playing with glow sticks, and just checking in with me from time to time.

I sat on the toilet for a while pushing, it was such an intense feeling. I reached down between my legs and told them that I felt the baby’s head. (OMG what a feeling!)
So my midwife said that I should probably get up and move back to the tub or bed, because we didn’t want baby born into the toilet, so I stood up, but then could not move, gravity and the intense pressure to push took over… wow burning sensation. My husband stood behind me and held me up..and then out came baby’s head! The umbilical cord was wrapped around baby’s neck 2 times, but our midwife was able to slip it over the baby’s head easily, and then with the next contraction and push, baby boy Sullivan Atlas was born at 11:56pm about an hour after labour really started! Holy Fast!

A BOY.. you guys I totally birthed a baby boy! He came out with a perfectly round and beautiful head, we took a moment to meet our son, sitting on the bathroom floor. The children were very excited to find out that he was a boy,  “just what we wanted!” they exclaimed.

After a few mins we moved onto our bed. I was bleeding a bit more than my midwife would have liked so, while I held baby and tried to get him to latch, I was given a shot of pitocin, to encourage my uterus to contract and stop bleeding, and an IV to rehydrate me and build volume. I had such a rush of adrenaline that I was shaking really badly and handed baby over to hubby and the kids. And I just sat holding my mom’s hand and shaking for a while. Not super fun. Our midwife was on top of things and was able to stop the bleeding pretty quickly. Im so thankful for her. Plus I didn’t even tear, which surprised me because the moment I birthed his head, I was pretty sure that with all the pressure I felt, I was certainly going to tear.

Baby Sullivan was examined (totally healthy) and we found out he was 8lbs and 6oz. My biggest baby.

Everything calmed down, eventually… My kids were tucked into their beds, My father came to meet baby for the first time and then took my mom home, and at 3am our midwife also left my husband and I alone with our baby for our first night together. …

And that my friends is the story of how Sullivan Atlas joined our family. It was not at all the birth I had envisioned, but thats birth for you, its not something you can plan out exactly. It just happens.

We are over the moon in love with this little guy.

 

 

 

SaveSave

One thought on “{Sullivan Atlas} A Homebirth Story

Leave a Reply

